NY Plumber Wins $136M Powerball Jackpot

Oh there is still hope for me yet…

A New York plumber and his son are multimillionaires after sitting on a winning Powerball ticket because they thought the jackpot had been won by a teacher.

Anthony Perosi of Staten Island says he was on his way to do an inspection March 14 when he stopped at the 7-Eleven where he always buys lottery tickets when he is in the area.

Perosi, 56, was at a bar a week later when another patron said the winning Powerball ticket had been won at that same 7-Eleven. The bartender, he says, told him it was a teacher who had won the $136 million jackpot.

“She says, ‘Forget about it. You won nothing,’” Perosi told ABC News today.

Perosi, who chose the winning numbers at random, pinned the ticket to a wall in his basement, where he keeps all of his lottery tickets.

It was only in April, some six weeks later, that Perosi had car trouble and was in his basement with time to spare.

“I said, ‘Let me check those tickets…I didn’t see anybody in the news or the paper that won,’” Perosi recalled. “The first one I checked, all the numbers matched.

“I’m looking at the computer and the ticket and the computer and the ticket,” he said. “I went to breathe in and no air would go in. I was by myself and I said, ‘Oh, my God, my heart has stopped.”

Read Full story here

Leave a Reply

